Best Mountain Destinations In India

Best Mountain Destinations In India


Operating Hours

Always Open
People Who Liked
People Who Favourited

Recently Viewed Destinations

  • 0 Likes 0 Comments 270 Views 1 Favourite


Basic Info
  • The Indian Himalayan Region (IHR) is the section of the Himalayas within India, spanning 6 Indian states (administrative regions) namely, Jammu & Kashmir, Himachal Pradesh, Uttarakhand, Sikkim, Arunachal Pradesh and West Bengal of Indian Republic. The region is responsible for providing water to a large part of the Indian subcontinent and contains various flora and fauna.

    The IHR physiographically, starting from the foothills of south (Siwaliks), this mountain range extends up to Tibetan plateau on the north (Trans-Himalaya). Three major geographical entities, the Himadri (greater Himalaya), Himanchal (lesser Himalaya) and the Siwaliks (outer Himalaya) extending almost uninterrupted throughout its length, are separated by major geological fault lines. Mighty but older streams like the Indus, Sutlej, Kali, Kosi and Brahmaputra have cut through steep gorges to escape into the Great Plains and have established their antecedence.

    The northernmost range of mountains are the Karakoram Mountains that continue into Pakistan and China. To the south of the Karakoram Range lies the Zanskar Ranges. Parallel to the Zanskar Ranges lie the Pir Panjal Ranges. These three mountain ranges lie parallel to each other in the north-western part of India, most of its area lying in the state of Jammu and Kashmir as its capital Srinagar, too.

    Some of the highest mountains on earth are found in the region. Many rivers considered holy like the Ganga and supplying 13th to draw a flow from the Himalayas.